• Nick Glasgow is a 28-year-old from Fremont, California, who learned this past spring he had Leukemia, and that he needs a bone marrow transplant to save his life.

    Nick is an employee of EMC Corporation in Pleasanton, California, as is his mother.

    Due to his mixed heritage of 1/4 Japanese and 3/4 Caucasian, finding a bone marrow match for Nick is far more difficult.

    Since an email was sent to EMC employees around the world May 15, thousands of people from every corner of the globe have expressed their support and commitment by registering to become donors.

    This blog provides updates on how people can help, on Nick's condition, and other aspects of the race to save Nick.

    Mark Fredrickson
    VP, Marketing Strategy & Comms.
    EMC Corporation

Cancer Free!

Written by Nick’s Grandfather:

Late last week we got the wondrous news that Nick is cancer-free so the transplant is working its magic for him; so far, so good! Unfortunately, Nick has continued to feel so bad and heal so slowly internally that he is unable to fully revel in this grand news. He has lost a lot of weight while not being able to eat due to the mucositis caused by the radiation and chemo. He still finds it difficult to swallow so he is only very slowly beginning to eat and drink, which is the key to leaving the hospital and continuing treatment as an outpatient. He has decided today to start using a feeding tube to allow him to take in more nourishment than he can comfortably swallow. That’s a step in the right direction because he needs those calories.

24 Responses

  1. Hi Nick and Family,

    I have been following your story and have been keeping you all in my thoughts and prayers. Nick, you are an inspiration. We are all pulling for you at EMC. Keeping fighting and stay strong!

  2. This is great news!!! You’re a fighter!! ; )
    Always keeping you and your family in my thoughts and prayers
    Connie

  3. I am so happy to see this update. You have been in our thoughts and prayers. Maria – my condolensces to you on your tragic loss.

  4. This is such great news! Nick I hope the mucositis eases soon so that you can feel better and celebrate your amazing progress. Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers.

  5. Love the positive news! Keep up the fight Nick…you’re in the home stretch of a marathon!

    Best,
    Lynne

  6. Awesome! Keep battling!

  7. Nick,

    Many prayers being sent your way as your recovery journey continues. Many feel that these emails lift your spirits, but it’s truly ours that get lifted as we follow your recovery! Keep up your hard work and enjoy the water party!

  8. Great news and good luck…all will work out for you.

  9. Praise God! This is wonderful news. Nick…hang in there. You’ll continue to get stronger and feel better. Continuing to lift you up in my prayers.

  10. Just a short note here to say that I’m really glad to hear the news. I’ve been following the story on Nick and can’t imagine how tough it’s been for both him and the family as well.

    That said, a little good news is a welcome thing, and I hope it keeps coming!

    Hang in there!

    -Chris

  11. Truly great news! We’re all pulling for you Nick!

  12. Dear Nick, Family, & Friends,

    Although you and your family don’t know me, I know what you are going through. I first heard of Nick through my employer, Cisco, when you were desperately trying to find a donor. I have been following your journey ever since and not a day goes by that I pray to God for Nick’s healing.

    My son, Marcos, was diagnosed with ALL in Feb. of 2008, but due to acute GVHD, he went to the Lord April 10th of this year.

    Nick, never stop fighting and never lose faith and hope that you will get better. Although my son didn’t make it, I pray to the Lord that you will!!! Always stay positive and keep fighting. The nurses at Stanford are wonderful souls specially, Martha, Helen, Gayla and so many others.

    You are always in our hearts and prayers.

  13. That is wonderful news, Nick. We will continue praying for your recovery and your continued improvement.

    All the best,
    David

  14. My friends and I have been praying and absolutely grateful to hear this good news!!! Wishing you God’s speed on your recovery journey.

  15. Thank goodness the transplant is working. We will continue to keep good thoughts for Nick and family for an end to suffering through rapid healing. Nick is in our hearts.

  16. This is thrilling news – as a former colleague of Nick’s I keep him in my daily prayers. We are all pulling for the positive news to continue! Keep up the fight Nick – you are one incredible guy!!!

  17. I wish you the best and a full recovery!

  18. This is wonderful news. I’m so happy for Nick and his family.

  19. This is fantastic news indeed!

  20. Thank God. We have all been waiting so long to hear this news. I am so happy for you.
    Keep on going. Your best days are ahead.

  21. Great news Nick! Congratulations.

    I just passed my sixth anniversary cancer-free. Had cancer in my tonsil, which spread to my lymph nodes in my neck. Surgery/Radiation and all is (so-far) so good!

    I was very pleased to see this note today. Hang in there, as it’s all going to get better from here on out.

    Take care,

    -Bob

  22. Hi Nick and Family,

    I’ve always believed everything was going to be okay. Even from the first day in the hospital. I’m still holding your hand Nick. You will always be in my heart, forever. Cant wait to see you again.

    Love always, Michelle Gunter

  23. Great News! Stay strong Nick, we are all pulling for you!

  24. Keep going forward! Thank you for the update- we are thankful that the transplant seems to be working. My family’s prayers are with all of you.

Leave a Reply

