• Nick Glasgow is a 28-year-old from Fremont, California, who learned this past spring he had Leukemia, and that he needs a bone marrow transplant to save his life.

    Nick is an employee of EMC Corporation in Pleasanton, California, as is his mother.

    Due to his mixed heritage of 1/4 Japanese and 3/4 Caucasian, finding a bone marrow match for Nick is far more difficult.

    Since an email was sent to EMC employees around the world May 15, thousands of people from every corner of the globe have expressed their support and commitment by registering to become donors.

    This blog provides updates on how people can help, on Nick's condition, and other aspects of the race to save Nick.

    Mark Fredrickson
    VP, Marketing Strategy & Comms.
    EMC Corporation

Cancer Returns

Written by Nick’s Grandfather…

Our world was shattered yesterday afternoon when we learned from Carole that Nick’s Leukemia has returned. The conclusive test results of its extent was confirmed this morning and the doctor had already brought the bad news, first to Carole, then later to Nick. The doctor told Nick that they have nothing left to stop the cancer from growing; everything that can be done has been done. Nick took the dreadful news with great equanimity and shook the doctor’s hand and said “thank you for giving me a chance” with the transplant. From among the limited options left, Nick elected to have hospice care at home. Stanford will release Nick as soon as they have his graft/host disease under better control….which will be either Monday or Tuesday of next week. There is still a tiny sliver of a chance (one in a million) that Nick’s new stem cells will somehow overcome the cancer. Our high hopes for Nick’s recovery have been crushed by this terrible news and we are all sick at heart. Only a miracle can save Nick now

64 Responses

  1. Nick, you and your family are in the thoughts and prayers of my family and I. It’s tragic to hear, after all the hope and promise of a successful battle to defeat the monster we know as cancer, that it has returned. Miricles do happen, don’t ever lose faith. I pray your one of the lucky ones to witness such an event.

  2. Dear Nick and family,
    Reading about your difficult struggle has been a roller-coaster.
    Nick’s determination through his painful treatments – and the way people have rallied to his assistance – are an inspiration to many people around the world whom he has not met.
    You are in our thoughts and prayers.
    Yisrael Woolf,
    Jerusalem, Israel

  3. Nick,

    Keep fighting, your miracle is on its way!

    Love always,

    Kat

  4. Nick,

    I’ve been keeping you and your family in my thoughts and prayers since first hearing about this. I remember being at EMC World and seeing the giant banners increasing awareness and drawing people in droves to test themselves as possible donors. Strangers have reached out and given their all physically and now continue to do so spiritually.

    Keep strong and take comfort in the fact that so many people are so deeply passionate about helping you and your family.

    Sorry you and your family must endure this struggle, but be comforted by everyone’s efforts to help.

    – John

  5. Nick,

    Even though we never met, you and your family have been in our thoughts and prayers since your diagnosis and you will continue to be. You are a fighter and showed us all that a miracle match can happen and that you are stronger than the cancer! Keep up your fight and I hope that being at home will give you the needed strength to battle the cancer and win!

    Best wishes,
    Lynne and Team Haupt

  6. Nick, I just read this news and I am devastated. I was at church this sunday and thru all my tears, I met with the prayer team of Cornerstone Church in Livermore. They are all praying for your recovery, for you to be couragous, for you to heal and continue on in this life with US. I am so sorry. I’m sorry for your mom. I know how close you are with her and she must be going thru the worst pain in her life. I urge you both to trust in the Lord…no matter what. I believe in miracles and I’m praying for a miracle for you Nick!

  7. Nick, keep the faith as miracles do happen.

    I said a prayer for you today and know God must have heard, I felt the answer in my heart although He spoke no word. I didn’t ask for fame or wealth, I knew you wouldn’t mind. I asked him to send treasures of a far more lasting kind. I asked that he be near you at the start of each new day, to grant you health and blessings and friends to share your way. I asked for happiness for you in all things great and small, but it was for His loving care I prayed for most of all.

    Your in our families thoughts and prayers and we understand your situation all too well having experienced it with my sister.

  8. Hi Nick and family,
    My family and I have been closely monitoring the progress and are shattered by the latest news. We pray for you and hope that a miracle would happen… The silver lining amongst the darkest clouds would give the ray of hope which we all are awaiting to hear.

    Praying for you and hoping that God hears our prayers …

    Take care and keep going strong,
    We all are with you.

  9. Hi Nick,

    Just because this treatment failed does not mean you should give up!

    There are many “old school” doctors who successfully cured many cancer patients and did not get much public recognition unfortunately. You or someone close to you will have to do some research to find them but the info is there in books and online.

    Three that come to mind: Dr. John R. Christopher, Dr. William Howard Hays, and Dr. Max Gerson.

    I was able to reverse my autoimmune disease, you can too!

    And don’t spend a lot of focus on your weight – you may be thin while your body is healing and that is ok. A body uses up 30% of it’s energy to digest food and if you are taking in food just to gain weight, then it takes energy away from healing to digest that food.

    I hope this helps!

    good luck and take care!

    -JK

  10. I would like to share prayer to Nick:

    Lord, we encounter many stumbling blocks in our way to you. Grant us the strength to remove them each and every day as we strive to imitate your Son in everything we do. Amen.

    Nick, let the Holy Spirt heal you and the Holy Father be with you. My prayers will be with you and your family…be strong the Holy Spirt is within you and your family….God Bless You

  11. I’ve read the newspaper that the leukemia return. I don’t know how to tell you that my heart and my soul is with you and your family. I would t like to send pray that is said in the morning: WE PLACE OURSELVES IN YOUR PRESENCE, FATHER OF LOVE AND MERCY. WE GIVE THANKS THAT YOU HAVE ALLOWED US TO START A NEW DAY. WE BEGIN AGAIN TO ACKNOWLEDGE OUR LIFE, LIFE THAT YOU HAVE GIVEN AND THAT YOU SUSTAIN. TO KNOW YOUR PURPOSE FOR EACH OF US IS THE GREATEST GIFT WE COULD RECEIVE. WHAT GOOD IS IT TO LIVE IFWE DON’T KNOW THE REASON? OUR LIVES HAVE TO BE CONNECTED TO YOU, LIFE ITSEF, BECAUSE YOUR GREAT LOVE FULFILLS US AND MAKES US WHOLE. OF YOUR BOUNDLESS LOVE, WE CANNOT DOUBT. HOWEVER, OURLOVE FOR YOU HAS COME UP LACKING MORE OFTEN THAN NOT. WE PLACE OURSELVES IN YOUR PRESENCE TO OFFER A FEW MOMENTS OF RELECTION AND PRAYER. FIRM UP OUR WEAK MINDS, AND ENKINDLE A FIRE IN OUR HEARTS FOR LOVE OF YOUR SON. AMEN
    and evening pray: WE HAVE ASSEMBLED, LORD, TO ACKNOWLEDGE YOUR LOVE, WHICH SUSTAINS OUR LIVES. WE REMEMBER THAT SAME LOVE HAS BROUGHT US ALL GOOD THINGS. IN THE HOURS THAT HAVE PASSED, WE HAVE FELT THE PRESENCE OF YOUR LOVE IMPLELLING US TO REACH OUT TO THOSE AROUND US: FAMILY, FRIENDS AND TO A WORLD IN NEED OF YOU. THIS DAY IS ONLY A STEP TOWARD ETERNITY. IF WE HAVE HELD BACK A GIFT OF YOUR LOVE, RAHTER THAN HAVING USED IT FOR THE SERVICE OF OTHERS, HELP US TO DOUBLE OUR EFFORTS, AND INCREASE OUR LOVE AND FAITHFULNESS TO YOUR SERVICE. MAY THESE FEW MINUTES OF REFLECTION, MEDITATION AND PRAYER HELP US TO FORGET THE CONCERNS OF THIS WORLD AND CONCENTRATE ON YOUR WORD. GUIDE OUR HEARTS BY YOUR HOLY WILL. AMEN

    These prayers give me spiritual hope, and I hope these prayers do the same for you. I would like to say one more thing….let the Holy Spirit guide you through your illness and the father will bless you.

  12. Hi Nick,
    I first want to start off, by saying “MIRACLES DO HAPPEN”! I also live in the east bay right here in Union City, Ca. About several miles from where you live. I was diagnosed with LEUKEMIA (AML) in October 2006 and was only 26 years old. I read the article yesteday in the ARGUS newspaper and was DEEPLY touched of what I was reading. I really know what your going thru the pain the agony and the tiredness of all the meds that they are giving you, but don’t worry all that will subside with your faith in God he will heal you. Stanford Hospital is the best place to get treatment, that’s where I was too, in “F GROUND”. I started in isolation also, many Dr.’s that treated me said I had the type of AML that wasn’t has bad. I wasn’t sure at all what that meant, even though I was given excessive chemotherapy. The thing about it is that no1 in my family, mom or dad has had cancer or any type of disease. I was the first throughout all my family generation to become sick, the doctors said it was genetics. I feel you Nick, the pain, and yes it really does sucks to be there in and out of the hospital all the time. I hated to have to lose my hair. But I got used to it. My boyfriend has been with me, stayed with me in the hospital for a month and a half. My daughter who was 5 or 6 then had to see me like this. I wasn’t able to see her everyday. Just by seeing all what many people are doing just to save a life, I wonder if there is any way I can to, even if I am not on complete remission. Dr. Mederios who I see there at the cancer center every 2 months say I have 2 more years til I am completely cured. I will have you in my thoughts and prayers, Nick. Don’t forget about “HIM”, because I know I did. I went to church the day I had to be admitted into Stanford and also went to confession. I somewhat turned away from going to church and to pray, and I asked God to forgive me for all of my sins. I know you can get thru this, and I know trust me it’s hard. But as days go by don’t let the cancer beat you. I had to fight for my daughter and now that I have another little girl, I fight to live for them. Maybe someday we can meet and tell each other our stories. I still live and work in Union City, e-mail me sometime at: ROWENA@COMCOLL.NET. I will pray for you and don’t forget “miracles do happen”.

  13. Hello,
    I first read about your journey yesterday in my local newspaper. I posted a comment on Facebook, but thought you may see this quicker. Below is the post from FB.

    I first heard about you today, local front page article that hope looks narrow and you need a true miracle. Below is a link to Bethel Church healing rooms info. In Redding, CA. MANY AMAZING MIRACLES HAVE HAPPENED THROUGH THIS MINISTRY> PLEASE DON’T MISS THIS CHANCE!!! PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE check it out. I could tell you about incredible miracles, but you need to see for yourself. GOD BLESS YOU! Pamela

    http://www.ibethel.org/churchlife/?page=153

  14. Dear Nick and Carole – There is a group of us from Mission San Jose High that have put our hearts up to the sky to ask God for a miracle. We pray for you not to suffer, to trust in God, and to know that there are many lives you have touched by your spirits. Nick, you are a miracle. Your mom is and always has been the best of people. Bless you all!

  15. Nick,

    We love you so much and we believe in miracles. The first miracle has already happened for you, you received a match that you were told you would never find. Together this community prays for you and it CAN happen again, never loose hope. We love you.

    Linda and Bre…..

  16. I am a firm believer that miracles do happen and usually when least expected. Even if I have never met you Nick, you are in my prayers daily and all my friends are praying as well. Hope Nick Hope!!!
    May your miracle show God’s Glory.

  17. Nick and family,
    I do not know you personally but as an EMC employee I have been following your story. I know many leukemia survivors.
    A miracle can happen so I am praying for that miracle.
    Stay strong!

  18. I am just saddened to hear this. I will keep praying that you will overcome this…

  19. Dearest Nick and Family,

    our family will pray for the miracle. There is still hope. May God provide you and your family with lots of strength and courage.

  20. I am praying for you and the miracle that can happen. It has happened twice in my family when there was hardly one. Both my son and grandson survived. Prayers abound! Linda

  21. in times like these we must wait on the the lord and pray ,pray and pray. i am going to have my church “CBNC” take a moment out this sunday and pray for nick and his family. i would encorage all the chuches in the tri-city area to do the same.

  22. Nick and Family –
    My uplifting prayers and good wishes for a miracle. If anyone can do this it is you.
    Nick – you have moved the world (truly the world) with your fight and bravery in facing this massive challenge. I am now a registered donor because of you. I will choose to believe you can fight this and please know that you have people pulling for you in EVERY corner of this earth.
    All our support and love coming your way –
    from an ex-EMC colleague

  23. Nick,

    I knew the first day we met , you were going to change my life for the better, not only are you a great friend but an inspiration to me! As you know I was in a boating accident and was given 3 days to live that was 23 years ago, and here I am. So I’m a GREAT believer in miracles!

    God loves you Nick and he gave you that wonderful gift of two donor matches and I truly believe that he will not let that be the end of the miracles he has instore for you. I just know in my heart that you will beat this!

    Thank you for being in my life!

    Love and constant prayers,
    MUAH ~ Kat

    Kat

  24. Nick and Family – My thoughts and prayers are with you. Stay strong.

  25. Nick,
    I haven’t met you or your family but I do feel all that you are going through in my heart. I pray for a miracle for you. You and your family are inspirations to us all. We have shared in your ups and downs of this experience. I am sorry that you have been in this position. My hope is for a miracle but also for happiness and comfort.
    My prayers are with you.

  26. Please know that you are in all of our thoughts and prayers. Miracles happen every second of every day… Hope is an amazing thing

  27. Nick,

    You and your family are in my prayers. God has provided you with one miracle through the donor, and God can provide another miracle. I pray for your healing and comfort, and for the comfort of your family.

    Sincerely,
    David

  28. Nick I will not stop praying for a miracle for you. You’ve already beat the odds once. It can happen again. I am so, so sorry that you are having to deal with this after all that you have already been through. It is so profoundly unfair. Holding onto faith that you will have another chance.

    • I know and believe that God works miracles each and everyday, because I have seen them happen. So don’t ever give up on hope..I am very close to a little girl who is 6 years old going through the same disease as you, who has undergone the same type of transplant during the same time as you..and thankfully she is currently in remission. She is at the point that she is finally after months able to go home. Please know that you are not alone..and you and your family in my prayers.

  29. Stay strong Nick…miracles happen everyday! I will keep positive thoughts in my heart for you!

  30. Dear Nick and family,
    My prayers for the miracle to happen. God has already found the match which in itself is a miracle. God will not let that go to waste, so be positive. Sending all the positive vibes and lots of love and hugs,
    Aparna

  31. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

  32. Dear Nick and family,

    I will pray for you and your family every night. You are an inspiration to everyone around you. My heart goes out to you and your family. God bless.

  33. Dearest Nick and Family,

    You have inspired a whole world with your story. Please know that you have changed lives, that you have given hope where there once was none, that you have inspired faith in one who never had any, that you have started a loving relationship between strangers that you never knew existed, and you have given strength to those who no longer wanted to fight. You are a miracle Nick, a living Miracle and I will not cease to continue to pray for your complete healing. Godspeed.

    Love and Prayers from a stranger, but a friend of a friend.
    Nichole

  34. Miracles do happen!!! You can beat the odds again..
    We’ll keep praying for you and your family.

  35. Miracles can and do happen… My father was diagnosed with Chronic Myelogenic Luekemia in 1996 and was treated with interferon, which worked initially. In 1999, the interferon ceased to be effective and he was told that he was going to need a donor for a transplant. No donor matched… and he was given a few months to live without a donor and were told to pray for a mircale, which we did… We wound up finding an experimental drug and the first clinical study (now FDA approved Gleevac manufactured by Monsanto). 10 years later, my Dad is enjoying retirement, golf and still bossing me around…. I share this, because I was discouraged and heartbroken and was blessed with a miracle… Nick/Carol, you have inspired so many people within EMC and all around the world… you gave visibility to this terrible disease, gave cause for hundreds to go out and join the national bone marrow donor registry, you have defined hope in your poise and your courage. We all pray for you and wish that your miracle is now.
    All the best,
    Tracey

  36. Keep hope alive. Miracles DO happen. God bless you, Nick, and your loving family and friends.

  37. Nick,
    You have inspired so many with your courage and spirit. You are a miracle !

  38. What a loving family you are. To share your painful ups and downs is a gift. I have experienced first hand the highs and lows of this dreadful disease and applaud your courage. As a mother I am sharing in your agony and hoping and praying for a miracle for your son. I pray for peace as you await it.

  39. I will be praying for that miracle

  40. MIracles do happen! You’ve been in my prayers for months now, and will continue to be.
    God Bless!

  41. I believe in Miracle’s!

  42. I believe in Miracle’s!!!

  43. Nick and Carole’s courage and strength has amazed me beyond words. I have been inspired to love freely and live fearlessly. I have seen the hand of God move using Nick’s journey to inspire hope, love, and selflessness to help others. The response to the outcry for help was unmatchable. Numerous representatives from the registry said that Nick’s story has historically changed the registry and that thousands of lives would be saved in his name. I may not have needed a transplant, but you can add me to the list of lives that have been changed. It is an honor and a privelege to be Nick and Carole’s friend. The doctor’s had said there was a 0% chance of finding a donor suitable (not even perfect) for a transplant. God provided not one, but TWO PERFECT 10 matches! The doctors are human, and only know so much. There is a much greater power that has the final say. I am going to continue to hope and pray that God continues to bless you Nick and provide you another miracle so that you can see exactly how amazing your legacy is. My love and prayers are with you and all of your family.

  44. Nick, you have already overcome the impossible so please keep the faith that it can and will be done again. while it’s understandable that with everything you’ve been through, you might be struggling to hold onto or even find that faith, but please know that your family, friends and even those of us who have never met you, we will hold you up…we will keep the faith for you along with keeping you and your family in our thoughts and prayers.

  45. Nick,

    We may not know one another but rest assured that you are in my prayers! As someone else stated and I DO believe, “ANYTHING is possible with God”!!!

    God Bless YOU and yours!

  46. Nothing is impossible to GOD! I will keep you in my prayers…

  47. I am really touched by this story. I have just prayed for you Nick and I believe there is a miracle for you and your family. May God’s will be done.

  48. Nick, my prayers are with you and your family. Just remember what Bob Marley said: Love would never leave us alone, A-yin the darkness there must come out to light.

  49. Hope – Things turns to GOOD – After all possible efforts and prayers which have been done by all – Now its His turn and GOD should help.

  50. My thoughts and prayers are with Nick and his family.

  51. I am so sorry! There was so much hope in my heart from the last post. I agree that Nick has moved the world, There was 0 chance I would be a match, but I’m now on the registry, I’m there because of Nick.

    The entire family is in my thoughts and prayers!

  52. Nick, you are going to make it out of this. The prayers and wishes of all your friends and colleagues will not go unanswered. We are all with you…

  53. My thoughts and prayers are with Nick and his family also. We will continue to pray for a miracle.

  54. Miracles happen every day. Nick affected thousands of people around the world, saved unknown hundreds or thousands by ‘growing’ the bone marrow registry. He is making a huge difference in so many lives. My prayers are with you, Nick, and your family.

  55. I’m so sorry. This is so sad. I hope that Nick and his family can find some peace in the coming weeks. It sounds like everything was done that could be done.

  56. my prayers!

  57. Oh no!! What can we do for him? We rallied the world to find a donor, we can do it again can’t we?

  58. All my prayers for Nick..

  59. I am so sorry to hear the news about Nick. The ups and downs are just heart retching. Know that Nick and his family are in my thoughts daily. Miracles happen every day, so don’t give in. But, the hope now is that Nick lives the rest of his life comfortably surrounded by his family. Laugh, cry, hold each other close and continue to pray.

  60. Nick was able to beat the odds before when he was told he had nearly a 0% chance of finding a bone marrow donor. As long as there is still a chance, even the tiniest sliver of hope, I choose to believe Nick can still beat this. We’ll keep praying for him.

  61. We’ll keep praying for that miracle.

Leave a Reply

